[table th=0 colwidth=”200|200|200|200″ colalign=”center|center|center|center”]Clerk,Elections,Marriage,Recording[/table]

Voter Information


Current Registered Voters may update Address information through Election Day.


Union County Official Ballot Drop Sites:


Cove City Hall 504 Alder St. Cove Outside Drop Box 24 hour
Elgin City Hall 790 S 8th Elgin Mon-Thu 8am-5pm
Imbler City Hall 180 Ruckman Imbler Outside Drop Box 24 hour
Island City Hall 10605 Island Ave Island City Mon-Fri 8:30am-4:30pm
La Grande City Hall 1000 Adams La Grande Mon-Fri 8am-5pm
North Powder City Hall 635 Third Street North Powder Mon-Thu 7am-12pm
Union City Hall 342 S Main Street Union Outside Drop Box 24 hour
Union County Clerk 1001 4th Street La Grande Mon-Thu
Outside Drop Box
24 hour

(Outside drop site at Union County Clerk’s office available 24 hours)

Drop ballots free of postage at any of the above official drop sites at the times listed above. You may use the outside official drop site at the Union County Clerk’s office at any time without restriction of days or hours.

How to Vote a Ballot:
Union County uses an Optical Scan type of ballot which requires that the voter darken the oval to the left of the candidate of choice or “yes” or “no” of a measure. The voter must darken the oval with black ink.

After the voter has completed the voting process, they are requested to place the voted ballot in a secrecy envelope and seal it. Place the secrecy envelope inside the colored return envelope. The voter is required to sign the return envelope. At this point, the voter must either mail the ballot or drop the ballot in an official ballot drop box and it must be received not later than 8:00 p.m. the day of election.

A ballot may be left at any elections office or official ballot drop site in the state, prior to 8:00 p.m. on election day. If you leave your ballot at an official ballot dropsite in the state by 8:00 p.m. the night of election, your ballot will be forwarded to the proper county elections office so that it may be counted.

Request a Replacement Ballot:
A replacement ballot is issued when a voter requests a second ballot because the original ballot was destroyed, spoiled, lost or not received.

A voter may request a replacement ballot in writing. At that time the clerk’s office will verify registration and that the voter has not returned another ballot. The replacement ballot envelope will be clearly marked so that it can be identified as a replacement ballot.

Provisional Ballot:
If a voter indicates that they are registered to vote and the county election official can not determine such registration, the voter is offered the opportunity to cast a provisional ballot.

The voter must make a written affirmation to an election official that the voter is registered to vote in the jurisdiction and eligible to vote in that election. Once the provisional ballot has been cast, election officials will then confirm eligibility and whether the voter has already voted. If necessary, the provisional ballot will be forwarded to the appropriate county election official in a timely manner so that it may be counted if found to be valid.

First time voter:
To become a registered voter in Oregon, you must be a US citizen, be 18 years of age on or before election day. Oregon law requires that a first time voter must be registered to vote 21 days prior to any election. Voter registration cards are available at the Union County Clerk’s office and all post offices.

ID will be required to register to vote. Acceptable ID is a copy of a current and valid photo ID, e.g. driver’s license or a copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck or other government document that shows the name and address of the voter.

Ballot Instructions


If you have further election questions, please call: 541-963-1006


Union County Clerk
Lisa Feik, County Clerk
1001 Fourth Street, Suite D, La Grande, OR 97850
541-963-1006 Fax: 541-963-1013